Preparing for my first Urban Hike

 

Today is the first hike of my new year’s resolution to walk the Austin Public Library circuit. At 10.5 miles it’s also the longest urban hike that I’ve planned for the year. And with my lazy December, I figured I had better do some kind of prep.

Last week I did a virtual walk using Google Street View and made a few modifications to familiarize myself a bit with the route, reduce the amount of time spent walking along streets without sidewalks, and choose the best way to cross major highways. I ended up adding about a mile to the trip overall, but it’s safer and therefore totally worth it.

My kit (free of disposable items) is ready and waiting:

  • Light jacket for the cool morning
  • Baseball cap for the sunny afternoon
  • Phone, fully charged, and with the map saved as an image for guaranteed offline viewing
  • Reusable water bottle, pre-chilled
  • Various snacks: rolls, pecans, and a tangerine
  • $20 in case I need other sustenance (in my wallet)
  • Cloth napkin
  • Dry deodorant to freshen up at the stop points if needed
  • Library card (on my keychain)
  • Bag to hold everything
img_20170103_072251
Zero waste supplies for my urban hike

In addition to supplies for the walk itself, I also have my bus pass ready in order to get back home in a more timely manner and a plan for an easy and replenishing dinner. Based on my previous walk, it’s probably best if I don’t eat much in the morning or on the hike so I’ll definitely be ready for a good meal after.

I even went on the library website and have a couple of books picked to check out from each branch. Good thing my new year’s resolution wasn’t to be more sponanteous!

3 thoughts on “Preparing for my first Urban Hike

  1. connie.n.w. January 3, 2017 / 5:35 pm

    This is awesome! Good list of stuff to bring and it pays to be prepared. Have fun 🙂

    Like

    • Deborah Ray January 4, 2017 / 3:06 am

      Thanks, Connie. I did have fun. 🙂 I have a few blisters on my feet also, but it was great discovering new parts of my city and realizing just how far I can get without wheels.

      Liked by 1 person

      • connie.n.w. January 4, 2017 / 6:47 pm

        For sure! I’ve walked a lot in the city and I’ll catch myself feeling exhausted. I once checked the map and I’ve walked several miles and didn’t even know it haha I think more people would appreciate this too if they tried 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

