Zero Waste Week – Day 1

Today was the easiest day of zero waste week because it was a holiday and I wasn’t tempted by the junk food at work. Instead around lunch time I made a huge pot of vegan chili full of various diced veggies. FYI, this is also a great way to use up random veggies that would otherwise go bad. To start out the week, I’ll share the foods I stocked up on this weekend in preparation for this no-fast-food week. Not perfectly zero waste, but fairly close.

I knew I would need plenty of sweet fruits to avoid the week without regressing to soda so I picked up some peaches, pears, and holiday honeydew (maybe?). Plus there are a few canary melons in the backyard which are almost ripe.

IMG_20160903_102934
Fresh grub from the farmers market

Likewise, plenty of bread for satiety.

IMG_20160903_103441
Package-free bread and bagels

More carbs and plenty of nuts, plus peppercorns for good measure. (I’m already fully stocked on beans).

IMG_20160903_102008
No mason jars required!

Extra veggies, with a few stickers just to taunt me. I got these pears before getting the farmers market pears shown above and probably should have skipped these. And I know avocados aren’t the most eco-friendly item to buy these days, but my husband is so happy to eat the occasional avodado.

IMG_20160903_102621
Non-local produce
IMG_20160903_103214
Mixed greens and garlic that somehow avoided being in the previous photo

Then of course, there are the weekly wasteful things. Milk is a necessity for my husband and he’d be rather upset if I didn’t get him any… and then go out and get it himself. As for the toilet paper, well, at least the wrapper and cardboard core will be composted, and I imagine some of the tissue particles will wind up in Dillo Dirt.

IMG_20160903_102310
The wasteful things

To make up for that waste, though, I did something adventurous to make sure the pumkin blooms in my backyard weren’t going to waste. This morning there was both a male and female flower open, so I pulled off the male flower, stripped it down to the stamen, and showed that female flower a good time. I’m usually less concerned about wasting future food, so this is my first lesson learned for Zero Waste Week.

IMG_20160905_085859

Well, that’s it! Time to get to sleep early so I’ll be less tempted by the caffeine tomorrow.

Zero Waste Week 2016

2 thoughts on “Zero Waste Week – Day 1

  1. jpe988 September 8, 2016 / 12:00 pm

    Full marks for trying to achieve zero waste – not easy these days. My wife and I grew up in the aftermath of the Second World War, so it really goes against the grain to get home from the supermarket with everything wrapped (and sometimes double-wrapped) in polythene. That’s one reason we try to grow so much of our own vegetables and fruit.There’s no packaging involved, and anything we overproduce ends up in the freezer, or gets composted to help fertilize next year’s crop.

    I hope you make it successfully to the end of the week!

    John

    Like

    • Deborah Ray September 10, 2016 / 3:29 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, John. I’ve mostly gotten through the week, but you’re right it’s definitely difficult to do these days. I hope my garden skills improve also, so we can join in with having a delicious backyard-harvested bounty.

      Like

Leave a Reply

