The August Garden

It’s 76° outside right now! A couple of days ago at this time it was a toasty 104°. Not only that, but there’s rain. It’s just been drizzling most of the time, but it still came out to an inch here yesterday and more is on its way.

That’s why this weekend I needed to throw as many seeds as possible into the moist garden beds to prepare for fall. If it gets too hot again (fairly likely), some of them won’t make it, but that’s a risk I have to take.

I bought a couple of packets of carrot seeds from Wheatsville while grocery shopping and pulled out a bunch of leftover seeds from this spring or last fall. Well, except for the turnip seeds which were intended for 2008 and which my mother found somewhere and decided I was the right recipient for.

IMG_20160813_124703
Seeds that went into the garden this week

So, without further ado, here’s my garden after living in this house for six months. The pics with all the wilted leaves are from Friday afternoon obviously, when the plants were trying to protect themselves from the heat.

Cucumber Variety Bed

This bed has not just a few cucumber seeds planted, but also nasturtiums, watermelon radishes, Jaune Du Doubs carrots, and a couple of broccoli. That may be too much to plant in this little bed, but I really wanted to get more things in the ground. And my experience with carrots is that they take many months to grow so they’ll probably wait to grow until I get rid of everything else.

IMG_20160813_112219
Future cucumber bed

The smaller cucumber bed that I prepared recently seems to be doing well enough. I’ll have to thin some out yet again. It’s always painful to see plants go in the compost, but it’s the recommended way for plants to have room to thrive.

IMG_20160813_112249
Baby cucumber plants, wilted in the summer sun

And right next to that, not worth it’s own topic is the yellow squash bed. More accurately, it’s the pile of dirt that I stuck some squash seeds into a couple of weeks ago when there was rain forecast. We’ll see whether or not I can still get a decent-sized squash from my yard.

IMG_20160813_112301
Yellow summer squash

Variety Bed #2

Unfortunately, the dirt in these new beds has dried up a bit since the summer harvest. I need to figure out how to start getting my mulch on. You can see a volunteer pumpkin vine growing in the corner of variety bed #2. This bed now has seeds for radishes, turnips, spinach, and a corner patch of lettuce.

IMG_20160813_112207
A place for vegetables

Melons

This is the same melon bed I’ve had all summer. Only now, I threw in a couple of seeds for Paris Market carrots because I read melons and carrots make fine companion plants and they should start really growing around the time I get those melons out of the way. That is, unless I have to tear up the whole bed to get the melons out.

IMG_20160813_112231
Melon vines still everywhere!

I tried looking very carefully for melons Friday and was surprised to discover what looks like an almost-ready cantaloupe. I’ll be keeping a close eye on that!

In the newer small canary melon bed, it looks like the plants are ready to be thinned again. There’s no telling if they’ll have time to produce this year.

IMG_20160813_112316
Canary melon vines

Lemons

Well, no, there aren’t any lemons yet. I planted this tree from a seed less than two years ago so there are still years to wait. But look how leafy and green it’s getting. I’m excited already. Do baby trees need to be pruned at all though? I’m wondering after seeing just how much it’s leaning after the rain.

IMG_20160814_090448
The Meyer Lemon tree at 21 months

Bell Pepper

No signs of any fruit, but it’s still hanging in there.

IMG_20160813_112347
Bell pepper wilting its leaves to avoid peak heat

Peas

Finally, I soaked and planted the peas from last spring and planted them in their own little plot. Unlike last spring’s peas, these will be in my own backyard so I can closely monitor them and pick them at perfect ripeness.

IMG_20160813_114527
The pea plot
5 thoughts on “The August Garden

  1. atxgarden August 15, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    Those watermelon radishes look wow! I’ve never seen them before, I’m excited to see how they do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Deborah Ray August 15, 2016 / 10:51 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement! I first discovered watermelon radishes at the farmer’s market about a year ago. I love that they don’t get the heat level that the small radishes do. Plus, they make my salads look much more fancy so my coworkers can envy me, hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Abundance Gnome August 17, 2016 / 3:15 am

    Hey there. Nice garden, lots of diversity there! And I’ve never seen a veggie plant growing out of a cinder block, that’s awesome. Must help keep the soil warm too in the winter. I don’t think your baby lemon needs pruning, unless you are planting it in a small space or around a lot of other trees. You can pull off the lower branches to encourage it to grow more vertical…but it’s not really necessary. When the tree is mature, I was taught that you should prune any limbs growing downward or backwards into the tree…hope that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Deborah Ray August 17, 2016 / 12:13 pm

      Thanks for the advice about the lemon, Abundance! I hear that Spring is the best time to plant citrus in Austin, so I still have a little time to decide on the perfect place to plant it where it will have plenty of room. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

