Gratitude Journal #4

I’m grateful to have clean running water, for the amazing social powers of the internet, for having a comfortable bed to sleep in every night. But here are just a few other things I’d like to call out this month.

My Mom

For many reasons, but in this case because she let me borrow her loppers. These trees were covered with poison ivy and virginia creeper, but after a couple of sessions with the loppers attacking the lower vines, the poison ivy leaves above have shriveled up and died.

IMG_20160812_185359
So many trees! 🙂

This mouse

Because it’s cute. I pass by this construction site every day on my way from work. As soon as I approach, this little guy darts off to hide. Not sure if it’s the same mouse or if I’ve seen many different ones, but if so they’re all cute. It draws my attention away from the ugly parking garages recently built.

IMG_20160801_065105
Construction-site mouse

The squirrel that ate my melon

One day I was sitting by my bedroom window staring out into the garden when I noticed some quick movements in the melon patch. It was a squirrel engaging in a most curious behaviour. It would quickly stand up tall, look around in every direction, and then crouch back down again, and was doing this repeatedly.

There was something yellowish in its hands. And then in its mouth. The squirrel somehow knew that the treasure it had found doesn’t normally appear on its own, and that its rightful owner might come to claim it. It looked all around but didn’t see me, all the while chomping and chewing away guiltily.

I hadn’t noticed a melon outside earlier, but sure enough when I went outside to check (after the squirrel had left) there was a canary melon sitting there under some vines and weeds. I don’t believe squirrels should ever have to feel guilty about anything. I took the melon from the patch and placed it in a clear area where the squirrel could return and eat guilt-free.

And it did.

IMG_20160807_200218
Squirrel-damaged canary melon

Mother Nature

Because she rewards those who share.

IMG_20160812_192021
Another melon in the making
2 thoughts on “Gratitude Journal #4

  1. bastantenj August 13, 2016 / 12:24 pm

    “I don’t believe squirrels should ever have to feel guilty about anything” 🙂 I’m not sure I would be so generous with the squirrels myself, but I enjoyed your journal. Thankfulness is good for the soul 🙂

    Like

    • Deborah Ray August 14, 2016 / 2:20 am

      Heh, I may have had second thoughts afterwards. That tiny squirrel didn’t really need a _whole_ melon, but it was quite enjoyable entertainment to watch it trying to be sneaky. 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

