Five Frugal Things (the Plastic-Free version)

With the folks in town lately there’s been too much food to really get down to my Plastic Free July resolutions, so instead in the spirit of the Non-Consumer Advocate here are some of my no-spend and plastic-free wins for July so far.

  1. My sister and her family left behind tons of leftovers after their visit to my mother’s so my husband and I have been doing or duty of eating them up the past few days and still have plenty to go. What we didn’t expect to eat soon enough, we stuck in the freezer. That’ll keep any of this food from going to waste before we can get to it.
  2. This evening I was entertained for a good half hour by watching the trees outside our bedroom window swaying in the wind. If you look around, you already know that often nature can be much more entertaining (and relaxing!) than anything on tv.
  3. I’ve eaten two canary melons from the garden in the past week and enjoyed every bit of them. Although critters got to most of the cantaloupes, I was able to save the last one and it’s waiting in the fridge now to be eaten. Last week I also planted more melon seeds to hopefully get some more delicious zero-waste, plastic-free, local, and organically grown fruit this fall.
  4. The two Roma tomato plants that we grew this summer produced way more fruit than we could possibly consume, so last week I took care of most of them by blending them up and then cooking them down into tomato paste, which has now been divied out into (appropriately enough) old tomato paste jars and stashed in the freezer for future use.
  5. Our tv was in bad shape. It was turning off on its own and creepily also turning back on on its own fairly regularly. I was ready to take it to be repaired rather than abandon it to be “recycled” and then have to replace it, but fortunately neither option turned out to be necessary. We left it unplugged for a week (we have a second tv set so it wasn’t much of a sacrifice), and since its long siesta it has been working great.

Now your turn. What frugal things have you been up to?

7 thoughts on “Five Frugal Things (the Plastic-Free version)

  1. The Irrational Parsnip August 3, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    Love the leftovers in the freezer! It’s such an easy way to store future dinners, and way better than buying a frozen dinner.

    This summer, rather than buy new clothes, I’ve been creatively cutting up my husband’s cast off t-shirts and jeans for myself. It’s amazing what a pair of scissors can do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Deborah Ray August 3, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      That’s awesome! Sadly, most of my clothes creativity hasn’t yet resulted in anything I’d be willing to wear. 😛

      Like

  2. The Abundance Gnome August 17, 2016 / 3:02 am

    Aside from the fact I’m living at my parents house to not pay rent and I’m working just 4 miles away, I’ve been setting up a new garden bed without purchasing any materials from the shop. Craigslist is the best. All sorts of free manure, free coffee grounds, free compost…and I’ve been going to the recycle center to pick up scrap wood for other projects. I used to dumpster dive in Australia…haven’t got back into it yet here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Deborah Ray August 17, 2016 / 12:18 pm

      That’s awesome! I’m so glad that Craigslist and such has made it easier for people to share resources rather than just trash them when not needed directly. Not driving limits some of the free things I can get at a moment’s notice, but there’s a lot of useful materials I can glean even from my own yard.

      Like

Leave a Reply

