Gratitude Journal #2

It’s been a little while since Journal #1, so I’m sharing just a few more of the things that I’m grateful for. The first brightens my day every time I walk up to the front door.

Zinnias

When this flower bloomed recently, I was really surprised how a weed could be so beautiful. As it turns out, these are from the zinnia seeds that I planted months ago and which I had given up on. They look totally different from the picture I remember on the seed packet, but no matter, these are stunning. More are just starting to bloom now.

Our New Air Conditioner

When it’s really hot and humid out, the cool air in the house feels so good. It should be saving energy compared to our old unit. And it definitely helps me sleep better, which is worth anything. I’m also really thankful that we were able to afford it without having to borrow money.

A Backyard Bounty

IMG_20160618_152945
So many tomatoes!

There’s not as much going on in the veggie garden at the moment, but I’m still harvesting a bunch of Roma tomatoes. We’ve been slicing them on pizza and chopping them up into chili and spaghetti sauce. It might soon be time to make some salsa.

Turtles

IMG_20160622_174150
Our neighbor, Leonardo

For a while now, my husband has occasionally been seeing a turtle or two in the creek near our house, but today was my first sighting. I’ll call him Leonardo, after my favorite ninja turtle. 🙂

The Library

Because in addition to everything else they recently got new copies of The Monkees on DVD, which I’ll be enjoying over my summer vacation.

Curbside Free Piles

Because I was able to get rid of the dirty and not needed yet fully functional ice chest from the back yard (that came with the house) without doing anything more than dragging it over near the sidewalk out front.

Leave a Reply

