Dandelion Destruction

I know, I know, dandelions have their purpose aerating and enriching poor soil, and the short ones are okay by me. But I think mine are just some evil dandelion cousins. I call them granddaddies because they’re so tall (they just grow fast), so many stems, and the leaves are super spiky.

After a recent rain, I was pulling some out of the ground and chopping the top off of others. But apparently ladybugs really do love dandelions (and I do love ladybugs).

IMG_20160316_174130
Ladybugs mating on a dandelion plant

Fortunately chopping off the dandelion tops didn’t disturb these little guys enough to keep them from their business. So no harm done, right?

IMG_20160316_174224
Ladybugs still at it

Of course, this week I took it a step further when my scythe arrived in the mail. (More on that later after it’s more than dry-fit together and after I learn to use the proper form.) So many dandelions and other weeds cut short in the prime of their lives.

IMG_20160321_175258
Lawn trimming in progress

But no worries. Finally the clover underneath can share in the love now too.

Leave a Reply

