January 2 Food Haul

First shopping trip of the new year! One of my resolutions for 2016 is to spend more on produce at the farmers market than grocery stores, and this first week is a success in that respect–about 10 bucks spent at the Co-op and 16 at the farmers market. It’s a good way to encourage me to try new things.

First stop: Wheatsville Co-op

  • IMG_20160102_120833Tomato, 0.47 pounds: $0.94
  • Orange, 0.47 pounds: $1.03
  • Fuji apples, 3.00 pounds: $5.97
  • Carrots, 1.21 pounds: $1.80
  • Popcorn, 1.35 pounds: $2.69
  • Barley, 0.71 pounds: $1.27
  • Brown rice, 1.29 pounds: $3.60
  • Quinoa, 0.66 pounds: $3.95
  • Almond milk, 1 quart: $2.39
  • Toilet paper x2: $1.38

Total: $25.35

The apples are for apple sauce so I made sure to pick some of the less pretty speckled ones.

I thought this shopping trip would be pretty light because of my mid-week visit, but what I ended up getting was actually heavier than usual and was weighing me down when I stopped in at the library afterwards. Always good to stock up on the basics, though.

Next Stop: Downtown Farmers Market

  • IMG_20160102_121439Cauliflower: $2.25
  • Spaghetti squash: $4.00
  • Kale, 1 bunch: $3.00
  • Grape tomatoes, 1 basket: $4.00
  • Mushrooms: $3.50

Total: $16.75

There are still fewer booths than usual at the downtown farmers market. I hope it picks up next week with the holidays over, and I’m so hoping that one of them is great at growing spinach. I’ve been craving it and have a couple of spinach plants out back but they’re tiny, possibly because it’s been so unseasonably warm until lately.

This may seem a strange thing to say but the grape tomatoes are new to me. I’ve always had a distaste for tomatoes in general (although I eat tomato sauce in many different dishes), but it just might be time to change that. The green cauliflower is also new to me, though it likely tastes just the same as the white.

Leave a Reply

