The Mostly Not New Minimalist Wallet

Wallets are important. They hold your ID, cash, credit, and any other essentials to be kept on your person all the time. And even if everyone else is inseparable from their phones, it’s my wallet that is the only item that absolutely never gets left behind when I’m out or at work.

So a couple of years ago, I was desparately trying to make do with a wallet that was falling apart even though it had never really suited me. The wallet was fairly slim but included was a zippered coin purse section and keyring that did nothing more for me than wear a more defined outline in my back pocket.

Finally, it was relegated to the trash bin while I was still trying to find a replacement. My husband had a couple of extra wallets, but both were bifolds and thicker than I was accustomed to or willing to put up with. I ended up creating a temporary pocket wallet from a used sheet of paper I didn’t need anymore. It was effective, and the technical documentation suited my style. Unfortunately, as might be guessed, it didn’t last long.

An Etsy seller at the time, that was my next venue when looking for replacements. I had a couple of favorites on my wishlist, and after wearing out more temporary paper wallets and a couple of additional attempts using cardstock (and repeated applications of scotch tape), I finally got a minimalist wallet from Etsy for Christmas.

Minimalist wallet by RaggedEdge

Unfortunately, as soon as I tried to use it, it was a disappointment. Cash didn’t fit in there well or too many cards and yet my main complaint was that it wasn’t minimalist enough. See all that extra area on the sides that just exist for stitching? I had gotten so spoiled by my super slim impromptu wallets that this just wouldn’t cut it for me.

Enter innovation.

Paper obviously wasn’t a suitable material, but there were plenty of other resources available that might work. After careful consideration, a piece of fabric from a pair of retired jeans seemed like the perfect material. The material was slightly stretchy (from before I hopped on the less plastic bandwagon) and denim definitely matched my aesthetic sensibilities.

With a bit of measuring so my cards would be held snuggly in place , a quick cut, and then some hand-stitching to make the seam, it was perfect! This wallet hugs my cards securely with minimal extra bulk, and dollars fit well if folded in thirds so they’re not wider than the cards.

Sure, the edges look a little raggedy in a couple of places and every few months I trim a few bits of fringe that have made their way free. I’ve gotten a few compliments on it regardless. And overall I think this wallet will last for several more years. With the only new part involved being a bit of thread, this makes just one more example of the best solution not being to buy new.

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the rubber band, that’s in no way an essential part of the wallet. I just like to keep one on hand to open jars easily, secure a loose container or bag, or to otherwise save my life in a MacGyver situation. One fits just perfectly wrapped twice around my beautiful wallet.

Leave a Reply

