November 7 Food Haul

First stop: Wheatsville Co-Op

I stopped here for the first time last weekend and it’s already a regular stop on my weekly shopping trip. Partly because of this:

IMG_20151107_081530

I’ve shopped regularly at other stores that allow you to use your own containers but none that actually promotes it. So I brought along a few jars for the bulk bins and got a few other necessities. The tomato and onions turned out to not be necessary here because they were at the farmers market too but I wasn’t willing to take that risk.

  • IMG_20151107_105958Pecans, 1.83 pounds: $9.13
  • Onions, 0.85 pounds: $1.69
  • Tomato, 0.38 pounds: $0.76
  • Jalapeños, 0.06 pounds: $0.24
  • Cheddar cheese, 0.59 pounds: $3.59
  • BBQ Sauce, 16 oz: $3.99
  • Toilet paper, 2 rolls: $1.38
  • Wild rice blend, 0.76 pounds, $4.55
  • Corn flakes, 0.67 pounds, $3.54

Total: $28.98

I may have gone a little overboard with the pecans, but hey I’m a Texan. The neighborhood pecan trees have just dropped their final pecans and I haven’t had nearly enough. You can see from the picture below that these nuts are so much plumper than my scavenged finds. And at $4.99 a pound, I end up getting more pecan meat for my money than the $13+ per pound for pecan meat from the bulk bins. Yumm.

IMG_20151107_112244

Next Stop: Downtown Farmers Market

  • IMG_20151107_105236Long beans: $2.50.
  • Chuck roast, about 2 1/2 pounds: $20.90.
  • Persimmons, one basket: $5.
  • Carrots: $9.
  • Mushrooms, half pound: $2.75
  • Spaghetti squash: $3.

Total: $43.15

This is my first time buying a roast from the farmers market and I’ve never eaten persimmons or spaghetti squash at all, so this will be an adventurous week. The glut of carrots is for a birthday cake.

Seeing as today’s a nice cool, drizzly day, it’s a perfect time to make some soup and finish up some of last week’s score.

Leave a Reply

